The silence of the stars: fragment from City of Bones River of Blood

1307web

Another ‘Illustration and a line’, and this time, I think, the following fragment is my favorite – I remember this was the fragment that sealed the deal and made me think, yes, I very much want to illustrate this book…

“It is inside this house that one night the phone rings and rings in the darkness, and I get up, sure that is ringing, wondering why the silence rests so heavily in the house, wondering why nobody hears the phone ringing but me, and I go through the dark to where the phone is, without being able to see it, and lift it and hold it to my ear and I listen to the silence of stars.”

 

by Darby Mitchell
City of Bones, River of Blood

Leave a Reply

